The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

SALAMIPHOBIA

There are few culinary treats that I find more satisfying than a thin slice of Genoa salami topped with a piece of aged provolone all sitting on a crisp bread such as that Swedish delight, Wasabrød.  What a multi-national treat, blending textures and flavors in an exquisite and elegant manner.   My mouth waters as I write this and I feel impelled to go out and purchase the ingredients to treat myself to one of life’s great pleasures.  And perhaps I had better hurry.

A friend recently forwarded a purported response by the mayor of Dorval, a suburb of Montréal in the province of Québec, Canada to Muslim parents who had demanded that the schools in that city remove all pork products from the cafeteria lunch rooms of the city’s public schools.  The mayor allegedly answered with the following message:

“MUSLIMS MUST UNDERSTAND THAT THEY HAVE TO ADAPT TO CANADA AND QUÉBEC, ITS CUSTOMS, ITS TRADITIONS, ITS WAY OF LIFE, BECAUSE THAT’S WHERE THEY CHOSE TO IMMIGRATE.”

“THEY MUST UNDERSTAND THAT THEY HAVE TO INTEGRATE AND LEARN TO LIVE IN QUÉBEC.”

“THEY MUST UNDERSTAND THAT IT IS FOR THEM TO CHANGE THEIR LIFESTYLE, NOT THE CANADIANS WHO SO GENEROUSLY WELCOMED THEM.”

“THEY MUST UNDERSTAND THAT CANADIANS ARE NEITHER RACIST NOR XENOPHOBIC, THEY ACCEPTED MANY IMMIGRANTS BEFORE MUSLIMS (WHEREAS THE REVERSE IS NOT TRUE, IN THAT MUSLIM STATES DO NOT ACCEPT NON-MUSLIM IMMIGRANTS).”

“THAT NO MORE THAN OTHER NATIONS, CANADIANS ARE NOT WILLING TO GIVE UP THEIR IDENTITY, OR THEIR CULTURE.”

“AND IF CANADA IS A LAND OF WELCOME, IT IS NOT THE MAYOR OF DORVAL WHO WELCOMES FOREIGNERS, BUT THE CANADIAN-QUÉBECOIS PEOPLE AS A WHOLE.”

“FINALLY, THEY MUST UNDERSTAND THAT IN CANADA (QUÉBEC) WITH ITS JUDEO-CHRISTIAN ROOTS, CHRISTMAS TREES, CHURCHES AND RELIGIOUS FESTIVALS, RELIGION MUST REMAIN IN THE PRIVATE DOMAIN.”

After reading the email I did some research and discovered that this interchange was a fabrication, a takeoff of a similar purported exchange between the Muslim community in a town in Belgium and its mayor – also a hoax.  But that isn’t the point, because the sentiment which was supposedly expressed by Dorval’s mayor is exactly what should be said by elected officials at every level in every civilized country in the world when an immigrant minority makes demands of their host countries that they must accommodate the newcomers’ ethnic or religious beliefs.

Those who object to these demands, which are often although not exclusively voiced by immigrant Muslims are vilified as being Islamaphobes. This is, at the least, a mischaracterization of the motivating attitudes of such critics.   A phobia is nothing more than a fear.  And it is my view that it is not fear which directs the outrage against some in the Muslim community or Islam itself.  It is anger, an anger that I admit to sharing, at the outrageous, barbarous and uncivilized behavior of any individual or group which says that, “I and I alone know the truth and if you disagree with my views you should die and I will be the agent of your death.”

Genoa salami is a creation normally made using pork.  I presume the fact that I enjoy it, not to mention a few other thoughts, attitudes and beliefs which I hold dear are sufficient to qualify me as an addition to the jihadi hit list.  I consider myself potentially a victim of what I can only describe as Salamiphobia.  But if I get taken out for my food choices, I am completely confident that I will go to that big deli in the sky where I will be able to place an order for some Genoa salami topped with a piece of aged provolone all sitting atop a crisp bread.  And I’ll say to myself, “Those fools don’t know what they’ve been missing.”

Comments on: "SALAMIPHOBIA" (5)

  1. I’m sure not all Moslems are terrorists but I fault them for not ensuring the safety of the rest of us by tolerating extremists. If they really are practisers of a religion of peace then why do Sunni hate Shia and visa versa and why is the Middle East in such turmoil? They can’t blame the Israeli’s for all the mess there. I’m also puzzled as to why they leave that mess in the Middle East then demand the host country convert into the same mess they left in the first place. Would I live next to a Moslem? I have no problem with that at all. Would I employ a Moslem? I would, provided they didn’t expect me to change the way my company operates to suit their religion. Do I hate Moslems? I don’t hate anyone. But I do believe our governments should not be influenced by any religion in setting rules and regulations. When religion takes over the reigns of government freedom goes out the window.

    • I also do not hate anyone – not an individual or a group of which they may be a part. But I don’t care for jingoistic people, whether their motivation is religion or anything else. And I most object to people who have determined that they know exactly how I should think or act or in what I ought to believe. If there is anything I hate it is intolerance.

      There is an obvious question that Islamic jihadists and people who reject Western values should consider. If you were living under sharia law in a garden of paradise, why would you leave and migrate to places where these are not the norm. And that leads to the second question. Why not go back and enjoy your life in a place where you can live out the fullness of your faith?

  2. When I saw the title “Salamiphobia,” I assumed it was a follow-up to “Hillary and Billary.” Conservatives surely fear the prospect of first-man Bill chasing skirts around the White House again.

    After reading what this article is REALLY about, I agree with you that Islamophobia is an mythical disorder. Your point is valid, that criticism of Islam’s intolerant ideology is primarily based on understandable outrage from non-Muslims, and not from fear. However, I would like to offer some additional logic that further strengthens your case that there’s no such thing as Islamophobia.

    You said, “A phobia is nothing more than a fear.” I beg to differ slightly with you. I’d say, “A phobia is nothing more than an irrational fear.” I assert that even people who fear Muslims are probably not Islamophobes.

    For example, Americans who live near mosques known to host radical imams that recruit disgruntled socially-misfit young men in their 20s from the local neighborhoods may be JUSTIFIABLY fearful of that mosque’s activities, and may decide to move or avoid certain events at certain nearby public venues. That’s not an irrational fear, it’s a prudent fear. Therefore, it isn’t a phobia.

    How can ANY fear of an ideology that says “I and I alone know the truth and if you disagree with my views you should die and I will be the agent of your death.” be viewed as irrational??

    – Jeff

  3. Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

