The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

I read an interesting article on “The Huffington Post” early this morning.  It was a detailed description of how our federal government has become a breeding ground and a proponent for total lawlessness.  The original was printed in the “New York Times,” and I’ve attached a link to the story below.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/tom-engelhardt/crimes-of-state_b_5184961.html?utm_hp_ref=tw

Naturally, I felt compelled to leave a comment.  In that comment I mentioned Alexis de Tocqueville – stuff like that.  By way of reference, I should tell you that I read the story and posted my comment around three o’clock this morning, about twelve hours before I am writing this post.  As of a few moments ago, the article had garnered 15 commentators and 20 comments in total.

Several hours ago I saw another story on the website which announced that Meb Keflezighi had won the 2014 Men’s Boston Marathon, the first American to do so in 31 years.  Within less than an hour, that post had generated close to one thousand comments.  That is similar to the volume of comments and commentators who respond to articles on gay rights or the legalization of pot and is probably not something that is unexpected in what is a decidedly liberal medium.

I have, for some time, had a sneaking suspicion that those on the left believe that if you shout something loudly enough and get enough people to join you in the chorus, it doesn’t matter what you say but, by sheer dint of noise pollution, they will make their case.  Facts are, in their view, extremely malleable and hyperbole carries far more weight – and the more outrageous, the better.

One of the comments that posted to the article was by a man who wrote the following:

“This is small potatoes compared to the very real increases in the instance where the rich are let off the hook for crimes that would put anyone else behind bars for life.  The rape of a baby.  The killing of a pedestrian by a drunk.  The looting of pensions and the manipulation of global bank rates by Wall Street mobsters.”

“The Courts have decided that the rich must be protected, at all costs, even that of your child’s life.  The Govt’s opaque treatment of its own wrongdoers pales in comparison to the very concrete examples of how the 1% are now allowed to wallow in crime and corruption with impunity.  We are their prey.”

You may not be surprised that this chap has 1,384 “fans”  – which I gather is the equivalent of those whom Word Press calls “followers.”

Well, never accuse me of leaving well enough alone but I responded to this comment with the following:

“I was riveted by your comment – particularly your first paragraph.  I am considering writing a post for my blog and am particularly interested in your statement, ‘The looting of pensions and the manipulation of global bank rates by Wall Street mobsters.’  As I try to be factual on my blog and do my own research to verify any information which I use, I would appreciate it if you could provide me with references to this statement.”

“Thanks in advance for your assistance.”

I’ll let you know if I get a response to my inquiry.  But as a word of advice, don’t hold your breath.

Comments on: "MY LIFE AT THE HUFFINGTON POST–DAY 5" (1)

  1. I guess a government has ways to reign in comments they find to be an exposure of the seamy side of government. Let’s see what response you get.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

