The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

I hope that my long term readers would agree that I try to make my points in a civil manner and without resorting to defamatory language.  At least that is my goal and if I am not meeting it, I would sincerely appreciate your honest chastisement.

I also understand that a user on a given site agrees to abide by the standards that site has established.  Being a person who believes in respectfulness, I read the terms of service for “The Huffington Post” and have tried to write my comments in keeping with their stated policy.

The “Post” put up a story about retired Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens who is touting his latest book in which he calls for amending the Constitution.  In the article the retired Justice admits that the amendments which he is suggesting are ones which, had they been in place, would have substantiated a number of the minority opinions he wrote when he sat on the bench.

I decided to leave the brief comment which follows:

“Both Justice Stevens and conservative commentator Mark Levin have suggested a variety of amendments to the Constitution which each feels are necessary.  Whether either of their hopes comes to fruition is probably a moot point, given the fact that the present administration seems to have difficulty enforcing the Constitution as it is presently written.”

Okay, that was my comment and apparently it generated some interest.  In my notification box I had five replies to it and was going to see what these fellow readers had to say.  So I clicked on the first one to find the following message:

“This comment has been deleted.”

And with the deletion of my comment came the deletion of the comment(s) left in response to it.  So I never got to read what those  commenters had taken the time to write.

This experience caused me to think of the verse from John 8:32:

“And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” (KJV)

But apparently that isn’t true at “The Huffington Post.”

Comments on: "LIFE AT THE HUFFINGTON POST–DAY 5-1/2 (MY INTRODUCTION TO CENSORSHIP)" (9)

  1. I’m not surprised.

  2. I’m not capital-s Surprised, either, but I am little-s surprised that the bar of tolerance (intolerance?) for competing opinions is set so low. May the Force be with you.

    • I susbsequently revised and reposted the comment replacing the phrase, “the present administration” with “recent administrations.” That eluded the iron fist of the “Thought Police.”

      To those who doubt that the media have adopted BHO as their special sacred idol, this might be an interesting lesson in reality.

  3. NevadaMark said:

    Well done.

  4. I thought I’d visit your blog after your kind invitation. What I can tell you about Huffington Post is that you are not alone in wondering why comments are deleted. I have comments deleted and could not, for the life of me, figure out why. They weren’t profane, rude, disrespectful or any other reason one could reasonably expect to be censored. I just chalked it up to a conservative moderator on duty who didn’t want my “incisive” comment to see the light of day. If you spend anytime on the site you will note comments from both liberals and conservatives wondering why their comment was deleted.

    • Perhaps the most frustrating part of the “deletion” process is that I will write a response to a posted response and when I go to send it, surprise, it isn’t there anymore. What a waste of time. I’ve also been surprised at what’s gotten through and what was expunged. I always try to be polite but I guess one can’t “politely” refer to Sharia law or “Radical Islamic Extremists.” Those are phrases which have a high probability of deletion.

      Since you made it here, you might enjoy a couple of early posts:

      “Just Add A Little Water To The Soup” and “Opie Doesn’t Live Here Anymore” are two of my favorites. But you have nearly 800 from which to choose – if you’re really bored.

      Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your interest.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

