The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

Perhaps it’s my background in music but there is nothing that gets me more interested in a program, product or service than a theme song.

When I grew up there was that catchy “It’s Howdy Doody Time” song that let millions of us tykes know that Buffalo Bob, Princess Summerfallwinterspring and Mr. Bluster were about to show up on our little screens with our hero, Howdy Doody.

A few years later that iconic genius, Walt Disney began his wonderfully entertaining weekly show with “When You Wish Upon a Star” which he took from his earlier film, “Pinocchio.”  Those of us who had seen the movie couldn’t forget how that little wooden puppet hoped to become a real boy and how we hoped his wish would be fulfilled.

As to products, what theme song/jingle could have been more catchy than the one that pushed that all-American product, the hot dog by one of its premiere marketeers, The Oscar Mayer Corporation, now part of Kraft Foods.  For some reason their jingle encouraged a lot of budding singers to walk around all day “Wishing that they were Oscar Mayer wieners,” singing the catchy tune that seemed to dominate our television sets no matter the channel we had selected.

As I viewed the hearing yesterday and today by HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius as she updated the Congress on what was happening with regard to Obamacare enrollments, a thought occurred to me.  (Sometimes that happens).  The administration has done almost everything in its power short of offering enrollees a ten thousand dollar bonus for signing up to get this lead turkey off the ground.

With all the spin that’s going on I’m beginning to feel like the Chanukah dradle that some of my Jewish classmates used to play with.  My head is spinning from all the buzz and all the noise.  But the one thing that I’m not hearing is an “Obamacare Theme Song.”  So I’ve come up with one, courtesy of Fleetwood Mac that I think is appropriate.

I sure hope that they like my suggestion.

Comments on: "OBMACARE NEEDS A THEME SONG" (2)

  1. Brilliant lyrics to the song. I enjoyed that, and the song fits so much of life today doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

