The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

HOT COCOA AND SANTA CLAUS

In our era of global warming it may seem odd that the country has just experienced one of the coldest early December’s on record.  Fortunately, Las Vegas escaped the torturous weather that the Midwest and East Coast have been experiencing.  But still, when you’re just coming off 110 plus degree weather a drop to the 20’s invokes a mental need to stay warm.  And for me that means making some hot cocoa.

As I was about to take a sip it suddenly struck me.  There may be truth in wine – but in cocoa there is political correctness.  I mean consider, a blending of white milk and chocolate cocoa.  But then I realized that there was something missing.  Cocoa didn’t reflect our Asian citizens – so I went to the cupboard and pulled the yellow food coloring and added a few drops.  But then I realized our Native American citizens had been left out of the mix – so I added some red food coloring.  And then, just in case there are aliens living among us I added a few drops of green food coloring. 

Fortunately, food coloring does not affect the taste of food – however, the result of this politically correct doctoring resulted in a beverage that looked sort of off purple and not particularly enticing.  But I hate to waste food so I forced myself to drink it and pretended I was enjoying it.

As a child I remember my introduction to cocoa.  Mom had taken me to Macy’s to get a photograph with Santa Claus.  There were lots of us little tykes in line, waiting our turn to ask Santa to grant our Christmas present wish.  Santa encouraged each of us to climb up on his lap and whisper our request in his ear.  And then he would signify his understanding with a hearty, “Ho, Ho, Ho.”  We all loved Santa.  He was white – but not all of us kids were.  Then he would give each of us a hug and would help us back on our feet.  It was a wonderful childhood memory.  When we got home, Grandma had a nice steamy cup of cocoa waiting for us.

Perhaps it’s a slow news week – but I noticed that Aisha Harris, a black female guest who works for “Slate” opined on MSNBC that having a white Santa Claus is an expression of racism.  The obvious absurdity of this probably needs no elucidation from this writer.  Ms. Harris is mistaken in her assertions – simply because having a white Santa is not racist – it is sexist. 

Consider that of Fortune 500 companies, only 4% of the CEO’s are female.  Apparently that same misogyny exists at the North Pole in the not-so-hallowed halls of Santa, Inc.  But here comes karma.  If U. S. regulations don’t put Santa out of business, Ms. Harris’ profound belief in global warming, should it come to pass, will certainly accomplish the job.

Fortunately, in a few weeks we will re-consign Santa and his entourage back to the recesses of our minds for another year.  Hopefully that will enable Ms. Harris to turn her attention to resolving other problems which don’t really exist.  And to help her out, I’m sending her my special politically correct recipe for hot cocoa.

I hope she enjoys it.

Comments on: "HOT COCOA AND SANTA CLAUS" (3)

  1. The older I get the sadder I get when I hear talk of racism thrown around today. It does exist and it needs to be dealt with firmly by any government. Its bad enough without inventing stories that keep this scourge on the front burner all the time. I was fortunate enough to be born into a house that did not recognize colour or the slant of your eyes made you a lesser person. My parents embraced people regardless of racial or cultural difference and our home was an open one. It was only when I was adult I actually saw it in action and it surprised and appalled me. I have a story about my Dad and his intervention when he saw white soldiers mistreating a black GI during the war in the Pacific. I will never forget the visual lesson he taught me at that time. Let’s continue to set an example by the way we treat people regardless of race, ethnicity, gender or anything that potentially drives us apart. While I don’t anticipate seeing miracles in this arena in my lifetime perhaps my attitude can build a chain reaction of tolerance and understanding.

    • In the two block walk I had to make to get to grammar school in NYC I met whites, blacks, Latinos, Orientals, Jews, Christians and I’m sure some atheists. I never thought of the world as being other than like that – one big hodgepodge of people. And then I started college in Chicago which I learned was the most segregated city in the north of the U. S. I was, frankly, shocked as this was so foreign to my experience.

      There will always be people who have prejudices of which racism is only one – but that is because there will always be people who are just not that bright. And jumping to conclusions without obtaining the facts is, to me, about the most certain proof of stupidity that you can find.

      Given that view, while I wish people would take the time to do more thinking before accepting a particular position, I understand that is the way of the world. And because those folks aren’t all that smart, I need to be understanding. But what gets my dander up are those who promote racism for their personal aggrandizement. Unfortunately, we have more than our fair share of those.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

