The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

It was February 7, 2013 and I sat down to write my more or less daily post.  My laptop and I exchanged blank stares at each other – it waiting for me to do something that would stimulate it into activity.  But as I sat there, all that went through my head was “white noise” – a tabula rasa where something clever should have been.  So I said to myself, “Self – you’ve written a lot and you’re entitled to a day off.”  So I took one.

I was no more stimulated the following day or the next.  I mean, with the failure of the Mayan Apocalypse to materialize, the world was as brain dead as ever and I guessed that I had joined the ranks of the Great Unthinking.

No matter how much I contorted myself, I just couldn’t squeeze out anything that I thought would be of interest to anyone – myself included.  So I decided to take a week off from blogging.  And I did.  If this was an example of writer’s block, I was the ultimate blockhead.

Armed with a week’s rest I was certain that my remaining 27 brain cells would have had sufficient time to recharge and get me going again.  However, I was feeling no more inspired than a week before and I thought that I should just go on a somewhat indefinite leave.  But I didn’t want any of those who were following this blog to worry about my physical well-being (I know some of you have concern for the state of my mental health), so I wrote up a nice post and scheduled it to be published a week later – thinking that just in case the Muse came to pay a call on me I could cancel it.

The Muse must have been on vacation because I wasn’t feeling any more insightful that week than the previous one – so I thought, I’ll get back to blogging when I’m feeling inspired again.  (And I’d covered my bases with the pre-scheduled explanation).

The only thing that went wrong with this plan – (I had never used Scheduler before) was that I forgot to push the button – which I only just discovered this afternoon.  OOPS!!!

My apologies to all those who have expressed concern.  I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your checking on me.  But I am alive and well and ready to spring back into action.  (That is in earnest after I cull through the 12,000 emails that have accumulated in my absence).

I hope all of you are well and I look forward to visiting with all of you very soon.

Comments on: "OOPS!!! (Or: DO I HAVE EGG ON MY FACE?)" (15)

  1. I’m so glad to hear you are okay. Your absence has been felt. Hope you’re ready to jump back into the fray. Your insights are always appreciated.

  2. Good to see you on line.

    • Good to be back – but I truly needed a respite. During half the time I was “away” I had the three golden retrievers – so both Gracie and I were ecstatic. And it was a lot more enjoyable to focus my attention on their simple loving than it was trying to solve all the world’s problems.

  3. Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

  4. Welcome back Juwanna!

  5. Good to see you back.

  6. I certainly understand the need for a break, like most of us, I’ve been there as well. And it is quite wonderful that you are back, and hopefully refreshed by rational things like dogs, as opposed to the creatures we deal with in the world.

    Welcome back, my friend. 🙂

    • Great to hear from you. I guess it was a variation on my mom’s statement, “If you can’t say something nice about someone, just say nothing at all.” In my case, it was “If you can’t say something clever and interesting, just be quiet.”

      The dogs were a real treat – although I wish I could keep them on a permanent basis – and I think they think the same thing. It’s a strange arrangement and Gracie and I always look forward to their visits and dreat their departures. The last stint was for 10 weeks – and I am always amazed at how simple and loving they are – and how we can communicate with an unspoken “language of love” so much more effectively than people communicate with words.

      • Yep, I do understand. (I’m also glad I’m not the only one that forgets to push the execute button on occasion.)

        And if there is anything more appealing, than a dog staring at you with his muzzle on your leg-I haven’t seen it. You guys are lucky, they sound like great fun, for you and Gracie.

  7. I’m not sure which is worse: remembering that one forgot to push a wanted button or wishing that one could unpush an unwanted one In my own case, one might expect both at once…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

