The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

The title of this post is taken from the lines in one of the opening songs in the musical, “Oliver,” the play based on Charles Dickens’ immortal work, “Oliver Twist.”  The young waif politely asks his master for a little additional gruel as he is still hungry after receiving his small ration of food at the workhouse in which he has found himself.  He is rebuffed for his display of ingratitude.

This morning as I was debating  several ideas for a post, I opened an email from a friend which was sitting in my in-box.  Normally, I would have read it yesterday but I had an exhausting day and actually went to bed early.  So I didn’t see this until this morning.  It was a great way to start my day, and I hope whatever time of day you view it you will get a lift of spirit as I did.

In a world in which it seems that there are a lot of takers – it’s uplifting to know that there are a few unselfish people left who are still givers.  I would like to offer my thanks to them for keeping the light of decency and gratitude lit.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

