The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

ON CIRCUMSTANCE

We have all heard the phrase, “Victim of circumstance.”  I thought about that this afternoon.  The implication is that we are not the masters of our destiny but mere pawns in a game of randomness.  Perhaps that has some merit.  So I thought about it further as it applied to me.

On November 29, 2011 I lost my golden retriever companion, Spenser (post “The Great King”).

Had it not been for that, I would most likely not have started taking his companion, Gracie to the dog park.

Had I not have gone to the dog park with her, I would not have met the three golden retrievers who have become somewhat semi-permanent guests (post “Do Dogs Shed Tears”).

Had they not become semi-permanent guests, Gracie would most likely have continued to cling to me.  Instead she has become “the leader of the pack” and if I didn’t have the opportunity to enjoy their company I would have wallowed in my self-pity over losing Spenser.

Of course, hundreds of thousands of these circumstances have brought me to where I am today – enabling all of the above to have occurred in the first place.

Whether we choose to view ourselves as helpless and victims of circumstance or take the opportunity to make lemonade out of lemons is strictly up to each of us.

May I offer you more ice for your beverage?

Comments on: "ON CIRCUMSTANCE" (8)

  1. So true. I love how your posts always make me think. I’ve been out of the loop for a while and can’t seem to keep up with comments and emails anymore. So, rather than worry about it, I just do what I can. See—I made lemonade? You always give me something to think about and are a bright intellectual voice in the muck of media maddness. 🙂
    Keep up the good writing!

    • I know the feeling, Jen – getting bogged down (or is it blogged down) myself. Good to hear from you though. I did post a comment about breakfast foods. Try the congee when it gets colder. It is very satisfying (and often people also order it with dim sum).

  2. In spite of the pin pricks of life we all endure in our lifetime a positive frame of mind makes life a grand experience. I’m glad to be alive.

  3. So moving! I swear, I don’t know how people without pets make it in life. I have learned more about life from animals than I can articulate…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

