The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

MERE CHRISTIANITY

The book “Mere Christianity” by C. S. Lewis had a profound impact on me.  In it, Mr. Lewis who had changed his view of life from that of atheism to embrace  Christianity in its Anglican expression explained his view of what it meant to be a Christian.  In essence, it meant to be accepting and non-judgmental of others.

I was floored that a minister in North Carolina has figured out a way to resolve the “problem of homosexuals and lesbians.”  His solution is “to round them all up and put them in an area surrounded by an electrified fence.”  I have included a link to this story and the video of his “sermon” on the subject.

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/lookout/pastor-delivers-anti-gay-rant-suggests-building-electric-142753831.html

In order to hold to my principle of being accepting and non-judgmental of others, after I saw this I can only say that if this truly is what Christianity is all about, I guess I read the wrong book.

Comments on: "MERE CHRISTIANITY" (12)

  1. We as individuals are accountable to God alone, not to each other

  2. I share Ian’s sentiments.

  3. I had no idea someone had actually said that. I think I’d run like blazes from his God.

  4. Keep in mind that we are to look at the behavior of a perfect Christ for true Christian principles, not fallen followers.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

