The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

Regular readers of this blog will recall that I have, on several occasions, taken Warren Buffett, the “Oracle of Omaha” to task for his political statements and actions.  Several weeks ago, the 82 year old chairman of Berkshire-Hathaway made the announcement that he has been diagnosed with first stage prostate cancer.  He reported this as part of his fiduciary responsibility of disclosure as the chairman of a publicly traded company.

The good news, according to Mr. Buffett is that his doctors have a positive view of his ability to overcome this malignancy as it was caught early and are hopeful that he will make a full recovery.  I hope that they are correct.

I don’t approve of Mr. Buffett’s politics – but I wish neither him nor anyone else but the best that life has to offer.

Having said that I will continue my position of withholding my spending dollars from companies which Berkshire Hathaway owns – including GEICO Insurance; See’s Candy; Dairy Queen; Fruit of the Loom and R. C. Willey Home Furnishings.

To your good health, Mr. Buffett.  I hope that you make a full and speedy recovery.

Comments on: "TO YOUR GOOD HEALTH, SIR" (6)

  1. Nicely said. His politics are attrocious but, he is basically a nice guy and a good businessman. (I don’t have a clue how they coexist in his head, either.) To your health, sir.

  2. I’m glad that you enjoy them – and don’t feel obligated to comment. Also, I’m sorry that you got embroiled in that “back and forth” with another reader. Yesterday I edited one of his comments because he attacked a third reader- the first time I have ever edited a comment. That is simply not acceptable behavior. I’m not sure that he will be back. (By the way, I thought you made some excellent points in that exchange).

    • I had no problem with him, for a while, eventually talking to a brick wall gets boring. I try to not ask for links all the time, I rarely have mine ready either! Thanks, I thought I was doing all right but, sometimes it hard to tell. I try not to take too much space/time when I don’t have anything worthwhile to say, which is often. Green/renewable energy is one of my pet crony-capitalist hobbyhorses so usually I can’t resist.

      Sorry, I missed this earlier, I’ve been trying to catch up my e-mail and just stumbled into it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

