The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

MY APOLOGIES

When I first started this blog in October life was so much simpler.  I viewed this as a way to express my views and to hear yours and there wasn’t much effort required for me to add a post or two a day.  Well, we’ve progressed and I’ve found many of you have interesting viewpoints about which I want to hear – so I’ve subscribed to your blogs.  And thank you to those who have subscribed to mine.

Last week I had a number of “non-blogging” things to do – and so I turned my attention away from my blog and didn’t check the newly created email address which receives notifications about comments and likes and notifications about new publications for my subscriptions to your blogs.  Egad!

Sunday afternoon I thought that I would catch up – only to discover that I had over 785 new emails to review.  I think that unwittingly I have now created a new part-time or perhaps full-time job for myself.

I have begun making my way through this phantasmagoric number of communiqués and have whittled it down by more than half.  I am guessing that it will take me a week to catch up with the old and deal with the new ones that are sure to be coming.

So I apologize to those of you who have loyally commented on my posts.  You deserve the same recognition and I wanted to let you know that I try to read and digest everything you put in your posts and to give some thought to your musings before I attempt a response.  This takes time – and although I no longer have to point at the words and sound them out, Evelyn Wood would probably require that I take a make-up course.

Just thought I should let you know.

Comments on: "MY APOLOGIES" (15)

  1. Thank you for letting us know but no worries – this happens to all of us. Take your time and treat it as fun and not an obligation…

    We meet up when we meet up and take it from there 🙂 Let us not take out the fun…

    • Thank you, Eric for your words of wisdom. I hate it when something that is fun turns into a job. The Chinese proverb, “Find a job you love and you’ll never have to work,” comes to mind.

  2. I can relate — I checked my email after a few days’ hiatus and had over 500 messages about new blog posts!

    • Well, the good news is that at least it’s not SPAM! I pracitcally wore out the delete key using it on my old email address to purge it of unwanted mail. I’m glad I’m not alone in this. Have a blessed Easter!

  3. No worries. I have the same problem.

    • Thanks for letting me know, Melissa. (In those wee hours of the morning when conspiracy theories abound, I began thinking that I was being victimized). Well, they say, “Misery loves company – and it’s good to have you along as company.”

  4. Since the notices go up on the comments corner now and if I review my Blogs anywat, I catch all the comment with emails, do I set all email notices to never. It is far too much information… Don’t worry about replying to every comment, they are there for others as much as for you… We won’t feel ignored.

  5. How well we all understand. Messages in inboxes are rabbits, they multiply quickly.

    No worries, we’ll be here (or trying to wade through our own).

  6. It’s gotten to be too much for me. It seems the more I post, the more comments I have to answer and blogs I have to visit, and there just aren’t enough hours in the day. Besides the fact, this isn’t a job I’m getting paid for….so I’m down to one post a week. I feel I can handle that. And I just get to email when I can. If I get behind, I don’t like it, but I tell myself, no one is sitting around waiting for an answer from me. And sometimes, I have to hit the delete buton. You just do the best you can, and above all—have fun. This is supposed to be fun. And it was, at the beginning. Now, it’s become more of a job. I’m trying to figure out how to fix that…if you come up with the answer before I do—let me know?
    Happy blogging. And you dont’ have to answer this! 🙂 I’m okay with that. I’ll still read your thoughts! 🙂

  7. I find the backlog a bit overwhelming too so never check out to see what people are following my blog as I understand how difficult it is to keep up in the blogging world.

  8. How sweet of you to consider us! But no need for apologies. We all get buried under avalanches from time to time. Take your sweet time so that it stays sweet rather than a chore. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

