The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

HELP! (PARTS I & II)

When I first started on my blogging career (if you can call four months and two days long enough to be considered a career), I knew nothing about this amazing universe.  One of my neighbors mentioned that she had a blog – but I hoped it could be treated effectively with antibiotics and it would not have to be excised through surgery.  Such was my familiarity with this new world.

Well, I’ve made some progress.  From time to time I can get a photo stuck in one of my posts, although I only seem to be able to do that through Windows Live Writer and not directly in Word Press.  Yes, I admit to being technologically-challenged and am not so proud that when I realize I’m in over my head the common sense thing is to ask for help.

Help!

One of the other things that I didn’t know was the world of blogging had awards.  I learned this when a very kind gentleman, Eric Alagan (Written Words Never Die) nominated me for the 7 x 7 award.  This was so early on that I had not even compiled a list of other blogs that I wanted to follow – at least not seven of them.  So I put this aside until I could develop a list of fellow-bloggers whose work I wanted to share with all of you out there.

Well, I had my list of seven people finally but then I was trying to figure out how to “paste” the award in my blog – and where exactly I was supposed to place it.  I tried everything I could think of – even going to the extent of printing the page which carried the award, cutting the award into an appropriate size and pasting it on my laptop’s monitor.  I then pulled out the magic wand that I had purchased years ago from a sideshow wizard, waved it as I had been instructed and pronounced the magic formula which he had taught me.  Nothing happened.  But in all honesty, I’ve had problems with that wand ever since I got it.  I think it’s defective.

Compounding my problem I was nominated for yet a second award, this one called the Liebster Award.  This time it was “allaboutlemon” (a/k/a/ adollyciousirony) who did the nominating.  Again more efforts at pasting – but alas the same result as before.  In addition, one of the conditions of the award is to “link back” to allaboutlemon’s blog.  Oh, if I only knew how to do that.  My experience with linkage is limited to metal chains and breakfast sausage.

In the interim of receiving these awards I have attempted to get help from the friendly customer service people at Word Press.  There has been a problem with that as they assume that if you’re smart enough to have a blog you probably have an IQ that exceeds that of a kumquat.  (Sigh).  I’m sure that any fourth grader could answer my questions, but most of the kids in the neighborhood are further along than that and I don’t want to embarrass myself in front of them.  They think that I’m “cool” – and it would be wrong to dispel such childhood notions – even if they are based on sheer fantasy.

So if any of you knows how to and where to paste these awards and “link” to another blog, I would be greatly appreciative if you would let me know.  And I apologize to my two nominators for my delay in responding.  Now you know why.  If you do respond, please remember to use baby talk and speak slowly!

 juwanna@NoFoolsOnTheHill.com

That’s the end of Help – Part I

Here’s Help – Part II

Every so often I get an idea.  Less frequently one of them is good.  But I have one that I’ve been incubating for awhile.  It’s an idea for a book – about cats.

I will admit that I am more prone to have canine companionship – but I have had several of the furry felines in my life.  They were very civilized and thought that they were dogs.

But back to the book.  I had been looking for a cartoonist with a whimsical artistic sense who could draw the two very special cats that I had created (mentally).  Sadly, none of the artists who submitted their work did much to impress me.  (And I impress fairly easily as anyone who can daub a canvass with splotches qualifies as an artist in my mind.  Can you say Jackson Pollock?)  So I tabled the idea for a few years and just decided to dust it off.

I was going to place an ad on Craig’s List when it hit me.  I had entered the world of blogging where there are some of the most creative, artistic and talented people I have ever met.  Why not throw this up to the blogging community to see who out there might have the ability, time and the interest.

I mean this could be big.  This could make that Pokémon thing look like last week’s corned beef hash.  I’ve already posted signs so that Disney can find the house and turn this into a blockbuster movie.  And all this in time for the Christmas season.  (Hopefully, the Mayans were wrong and there will be a Christmas season again this year). 

So if anyone out there is interested in collaborating on this project or at the least learning more about it, you have the email address.  I’d love to hear from you.

And thanks in advance for all the help I am sure I will receive from all you wonderful bloggers out there.

Comments on: "HELP! (PARTS I & II)" (5)

  1. Sorry, no help from this quarter. Instead I offer a plea to PASS IT ON if any is forthcoming I still haven’t figured out how to get a picture to appear when my post shows up on the WP list under Writing or Family or whatever. For now, only those who click on my geometric design by accident find me at all.
    By the way, kudos for the awards, which are deserved. Your prose is fun and informative, and if your soapbox occasionally looks a little well-worn, it’s probably because there are a lot of us up there with you most of the time.

  2. Thanks for the compliment. I will certainly let you know (taking the positive view) when I receive help – rather than if.

  3. 1. Click on the Image and save it in your folder, Pictures
    2. Go to Dashboard of your blog
    3. Click Media > Add New (You’ll come to Upload New Media)
    4. Click Select Files (You’ll come to your computer Desktop – locate the folder, Pictures)
    5. Click Pictures (You’ll come to your saved Pictures)
    6. Click the Image you wish to upload – the one you saved in step # 1 (Image will appear in File Name, at the bottom)
    7. Click Open (you are back on Upload New Media – Crunching
    8. In the box Caption – key in the Title of this image, if you wish
    9. Click Save All Changes (You will be in Media Library, with the latest image right on top)
    10. On the Left sidebar, click on Appearance > Widgets
    11. In the Available Widgets, you should have a widget called “Image”
    12. Click and drag that Image to the Sidebar Widget Area
    13. Copy and paste the image URL into the box that says Image URL (you can get this from the Image in Edit mode > copy the File URL, that is the Image URL
    14. Click Save, Close and you are done.
    15. Link back > let me figure this out and get back to you, as sometimes, I get this right and sometimes, I don’t 🙂

    Congratulations on pasting the image, for now at least.

    The best way to learn this is by navigating the blog commands, making the errors and proceeding from there. I am completely self-taught and am sure the more savvy bloggers have short cuts – not my 14 step yawn…

    Luv and peace, Eric

  4. Thank you, Eric. I’m going to try this first thing in the morning when I’m fresh and alert. I appreciate your help and, of course, the nomination.

  5. Congrats on your awards! You definitely deserve them 🙂 And Eric’s instructions will make it easy-peasy for you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

