The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

YOU TURN ME OFF

This has been a long time coming
But I just have to say it,
You turn me off.

When we go to a party
And you speak to other guests,
You turn me off.

When we go to the movies
And you get wrapped up in the film,
You turn me off.

When we go out to dinner
And you’re quiet through the meal,
You turn me off.

But I am loyal and devoted
And though
You turn me off,
I’ll be there for you
Whenever you need me.
And when that moment comes,
You’ll turn me on.

This is your cell phone and
I wanted you to know how I feel.

 

  

Comments on: "YOU TURN ME OFF" (2)

  1. Lol!! This is great, I was totally confounded until the end!

  2. Thank you. My first foray into poetry. (It’s tougher than it looks). As I think back to my time in Mr. Gamble’s class (an early post – “What My English Teacher Taught Me), I can hear him now critiquing this piece. In his direct way he would have said, “Room for improvement.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

