The American Dilemma and How We Can Fix It

It’s the time of year that people are more lighthearted and we make an effort to be a little nicer to others than usual.  Those are wonderful things.  Would that we could hold on to those feelings throughout the rest of the year.

I have neither a wish list nor do I have a shopping list – at least for anything that can be acquired at Saks Fifth Avenue or Crate & Barrel.  There really is nothing that I need and would prefer that, rather than spending money on me, my friends would donate to a worthy charity.  And since I gave up the practice of buying things in favor of making them I am pretty well set with those on my list.

But I am out shopping – for a new set of leaders to guide our ailing country into what I hope will be a more prosperous future.

The problem is that I’ve done several online searches and have yet to find a store that has politicians with ethics, morals, common sense and vision on display.  (When I was less specific – not requiring those four little qualifiers – I immediately had many pages show up on Google with a host of websites headquartered in Washington, D.C.).  Surely that is no surprise to you – or me.

I am an optimist.  I will continue my search.  I will get involved because not doing so is to abdicate personal responsibility.  I am one small person with a lone voice – but I believe that I can help change America for the better.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

